Brief History of Western Togoland and the 1956 Plebiscite

General, Latest, News, Opinions

So the area known as Trans-Volta Togoland or Western Togoland was in the hands of the Germans in 1884. After 1916, that area was taken over by the French, who latter ceeded that area to the British after they had helped France take over that area and the current day Togo. So the place was then know from 1916 as a Trust Territory, with the name Tran-Volta Togoland. When the British decided to leave the Gold Coast, there was confusion as to what should happen to the Trust Territory. The confusion was whether to make it an independent state or to form a union with the then Gold Coast.

A plebiscite was then held to settle the confusion. In that plebiscite, 6 Districts that formed the Trans-Volta Togoland voted, supervised by the United Nations Plebiscite Committee. In that plebiscite, 58 percent of the 6 Districts namely, Ho, Kpando, Gonja, Dagombas, Mampruli and Buem/Krachi. It is important to also note that the voting choice of these districts was influenced by the presence of their relatives and families in the then Gold Coast, an analysis I will reserve for another day.

The plebiscite of 1956 resulted a reorganization of the map of the new independent Ghana.

However, to answer the question of the Anlos, areas such as Sogakope, Battor, Adidome, Juapong, Keta, Peki, Ketu were all part of Gold coast and were not part of the plebiscite.

The Current Map of Volta Region is a creation of Ghana after independence. The Trans-Volta Togoland map was reorganized and splited variously and placed into Upper East Region, Norther Region, Brong Ahafo Region and a Newly Created Volta Region.

Volta Region therefore cannot be the representation of Trans-Volta Togoland or British Togoland.

Compiled by Stephen Nani

Leave a Reply